His Chosen

Fingerprints of God – Steven Curtis Chapman

I can see the tears filling your eyes
And I know where they’re coming from
They’re coming from a heart that’s broken in two
By what you don’t see
The person in the mirror
Doesn’t look like the magazine
Oh, but when I look at you it’s clear to me

That I can see the fingerprints of God
When I look at you
I can see the fingerprints of God
And I know it’s true
You’re a masterpiece
That all creation quietly applauds
And you’re covered with the fingerprints of God

At the age of 18 I  really struggled with my identity.  Who am I? Why am I here? Not much made any sense. Life had been cruel.  A year after finding Jesus not much had changed.  The day I turned 18, a CD was given to me as a gift.  Little did the person (who gave it to me) know that it would save me in so many ways. Music speaks to me more then anyone would know. And so the above song (Fingerprints of God by Steven Curtis Chapman) stayed on repeat for many months to come.  Years later even today I go back to this one song – it is now full of memories of the new friendship that begun between my Savour and I.

I learnt that Jesus had promised me a new life (John 10:10).  I am a new creation after all (2 Corinthians 5:17).  But still the tape playing in my mind was so opposite to what Christ was telling me now.  The battle of the minds started and still continues, though each day I am getting stronger and bolder.

Jesus was talking to me and  He was so close. I started to understand that I  am His masterpiece.  What was broken, was healing. He is at work in my life, daily.  I am no saint, but as we know He came for the sinners, there is comfort in that knowledge.  I may not be perfect but through Him I am made perfect, daily.  Grace has found me. I pray that it finds you too.

I lived in a world full of anger and hate.  Words that would break anyone into a million pieces was my norm.  Life has taught me many things, as it does everyone.

Christ came to give me a new life. A whole new identity, a whole new me.  I look the same as I did, but trust me, I am His masterpiece being transformed from the inside. I had nothing to lose, but with Jesus so much to gain so I embarked into this new journey with Him.   Into the unknown but with a friend I was beginning to know so well.

He told me He had amazing plans. (Jeremiah 29:11).  This is exciting still.

He told me that I was knit together in my mother’s womb (Psalm 139).  This in itself gave me a new beginning.

He told me He is my Father. (Psalm 98:5) Although until this day I battle with this idea, I know in my head, that is the truth, which is slowly to get into my heart.  Good things take time, so people say.  When head knowledge becomes heart experience, Love begins to heal the pain.

He told me so many things,  He is a man who keeps to His word.  Over the years, it was the basics that mattered to me.  I am  a simple being, you see, and I can’t deal with complicated.  As far as I am concerned the gospel of grace is exactly what it says it is.  Jesus came.  He died.  He resurrected.  He gives me a new beginning, through grace.  Today I am saved.

Everything Jesus was saying to me, it was simple, yet life changing.

I learnt to live and every day I am learning something new.  He teaches me how to love myself.  He loves me even when I am hard to love.   It is His love that changes us so we can be that love for others.

I realized each time I looked at myself, the words of that song was for me. There will never be another me.  I am God’s masterpiece, covered in His fingerprints. Called to be His first.

God isn’t finished with me yet. And that’s OK.

I hope by sharing a little bit of me here today, it helps someone understand that our true identity comes not from our status, our last name, our career, or any amount of dollars we have.  The fact is in this world full of rejection, pain, and war (spiritual, physical, emotional wars), it is even more important that we know who we truly are.  We are God’s masterpiece.  His artwork.  Bought at a very high price.

When Jesus is at the center of our lives, we will realize that regardless of the storms, the joys, the pains, or even the laughter, we are never alone.  He has an amazing plan.  We truly are a new creation.  His grace has covered us, eternally.  The inner turmoil, well it isn’t going to go away overnight (as some like to preach it), but help is never far.  we never have to wonder who we are anymore.  Why we are here?

Truth is all that matters. Our truth comes from His word. God’s fingerprints are all over us.  He will finish the good work He has begun.

We are his CHOSEN (1 Peter 2:9), this truth is yours just as much as it is mine.

 

As I conclude on a small part of my journey to get to where I am with Jesus today, I would like to leave you with this thought from one of my favourite books -The Shack.

I think God would say this to us:

“when I live in you, then together we can live through everything that happens to you.”
Wm. Paul Young, The Shack

 “Dear children, you belong to God. So you have won the victory over these people, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.” 1 John 4:4

Is Jesus  talking to you today about how much you matter to Him?

Leave a Reply

